buttlad’s “RPG Labs(NEW barrows armour by narutomasta9)” Place Review

June 10, 2008 at 12:27 am | Posted in Place Reviews | 2 Comments

By: chess123mate

I had just finished reviewing a bad place, so I figured I’d rate something that might be good. I’d seen this RPG Labs place fairly popular, so I decided to take a look.

I’d forgotten what the world thinks “RPG” has to be. Violence. It stands for (so I’m told) “Role Playing Game”. To my knowledge, playing a role does not mean you have to kill everything in site. There are about 1000000 different roles in the universe; we don’t have to focus on “clever ways of destruction”; the world already has enough of that. Well, unfortunately for me, I can’t rate this place down for that. Fortunately for everyone, I can tell you the good things and bad things about this particular version of the all popular “kill for money” theme.

First of all, this place is heavily scripted. That’s a good thing. There is tons of detailed everything in this place. You can upgrade in the detailed and well built shop. There are a lot of features this place has. The biggest one is the “brick graphics”. There are a lot of cool graphics to show that someone has “levelled up” or that some action has occured. It looks cool! Why can’t other places do that type of thing?

That covers the good things. The bad things include the fact that you can “kill” (why not blox, anyways?) weak enemies and claim the gold for yourself if a weaker player is battling. Another thing is that it’s 100% based on “RPG” games. Turns; so you attack the creature and it attacks back and a certain amount of damage is done and then a few seconds later it happens again. Two more problems: you can’t retreat and your health regenerates. I think it does for the enemies as well, but I’m not sure. Also, this place doesn’t have a save feature, it has difficult to use tools, and isn’t original at all. Creative, yes, but not original.

MARK BREAKDOWN

Scripting: 7/10. It needs more. Simple as that. The enemies are basically your basic “zombie follow” routine with different damaging items. They just stand there until you move close to them.
Tools: 8/10. I’ll keep this short: I think there could be a lot more tools in different ways, but I’ll dock marks for that in originality and creativity. The tools themselves are overall well made. However, there is an inconvenience: if you wish to see what weapons you have, you can’t just click on the tool “MeleeWeps”. You have to click on that tool, then click again on the screen. Why?
Building: 5/10. Needs more, basically. What is there is acceptable.
General Enjoyment: n/a. If I rated this, it’d be biased too much. I’d give it a 1 or a 0 out of 10. I asked when I was in a random server, and I got 2 answers to what they’d rate it as: “8” and “10”. I wouldn’t give it either of those even if I loved RPGs and violence. Of course, if I played them, it’s possible I wouldn’t know how to rate anything at all…. (I won’t go into an explanation of that).
Originality: 0/10. I haven’t seen many of these on Roblox. The problem is that they’ve already been made in other online games.
Creativity: 5/10. It’s acceptable; there is a lot of creativity compared to other places.
Ease of Use: 4/10. It’s simply not simple to battle, collect gold (why you would I don’t know, when you can simply battle).
Easy to Learn: 3/10. I struggled, myself. The only reason I understood half of what was going on is because I’ve observed RPGs being played before. I don’t like them, but I know how they work. Only that experience allowed me to understand what was going on, and even then, there were various mysteries that took a bit to figure out.
Deals with Problems: 1/10. It regens the monsters… =\ but there are a lot of problems that haven’t been dealth with. There are health glitches that aren’t compensated by scripting (how humanoids start out at 100 health or less even if you set them for 1000 when transferred from lighting to workspace), and a few other glitches/problems. The major problem is other players messing around with your battles. It’s great if you need saving (but then why can’t you escape from them?) but not if you are winning. Also, it’s an onTouch battle system, meaning the computer gets the time advantage. You can’t be clicking every centisecond. Ironically, if you get in the right spot, you can make it so that the monsters/whatever they are are stuck against you at an angle where they aren’t touching + registering contact. This is of course, a bug. However, it means that you can attack any monster if it isn’t magical (yes, there are magical spells you can buy if you have the right level + gold) assuming you get it just right and that you can survive the first attack from it; and if no one bothers you.
Deals with Lag: n/a. Not enough for me to see if any significant measures have been put into effect.
Bonus: +0.5 for special features: the flying bricks, brick maneouvering, and the overall look to what’s currently implemented.

Overall: 4.7/10. This place is overall well underway. Unfortunately, it’s very un-original, and there is a lot of room for creativity, scripting features, different concepts, anti-“noob” systems [or rule breakers or annoying people], and simply needs finishing. Of course, it is labelled a “Lab”, so that’s what should be expected. I’d suggest visiting the place to see the features, then letting that spur your imagination to create your own. Then I’d suggest going farther and making a whole new series of RPGs… well, let’s just leave it at that. 😉

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m narutomasta9! u like the armor? anyway, you can even ask… “me”

  2. 1ST COMMENT OH YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

